Follow Us On Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube
Register
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Fake Firefox fix hides password-filching trojan

This is a discussion on Fake Firefox fix hides password-filching trojan within the Email & Spam Issues forums, part of the Web & Networking category; Fake Firefox fix hides password-filching trojan Scammers are sending out huge numbers of fake emails pretending to be from the ...

  1. #1
    ferguj1's Avatar
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Great Beyond
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,674
    Rep Power
    282

    Default Fake Firefox fix hides password-filching trojan

    Fake Firefox fix hides password-filching trojan


    Scammers are sending out huge numbers of fake emails pretending to be from the Mozilla Foundation, maker of the popular multi-platform web browser Firefox.

    The spam-flavoured missives, with titles along the line of 'New Version Released' and which appear to have been sent from various email addresses ending in @firefox.com contain links to malicious executables which ride in on what appears to be a genuine update to Firefox 5.0.1.

    The trojan, identified by Sophos as Troj/PWS-BSF, is reportedly capable of stealing passwords.

    Firefox automatically updates itself by default so any email purporting to offer to do it for you is definitely a fake. Mozilla doesn't send update notices vie email or any method other than the in-app notifications.

    Here's the text of the spam email, which you should delete without opening. And definitely don't click on the link which, for obvious reasons, we have deleted.

    Important notice


    A Firefox software update is a quick download of small amounts of new code to your existing Firefox browser. These small patches can contain security fixes or other little changes to the browser to ensure that you are using the best version of Firefox available.

    Firefox is constantly evolving as our community finds ways to make it better, and as we adjust to the latest security threats. Keeping your Firefox up-to-date is the best way to make sure that you are using the smartest, fastest and . most importantly . safest version of Firefox available.

    A Firefox update will not make any changes to your bookmarks, saved passwords or other settings. However, there is a possibility that some of your Add-ons won.t be immediately compatible with new updates.


    "Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight"

    "Only a fool is never afraid, but never let fear make the decisions for you. Do right, and risk the consequences"


    The Rules: Read and Prosper

    Forum Feedback/Suggestions

  2. Thanks axxxo, Gman496, allybird58, dee, j4v3d and 2 others thanked for this post

    • Advertising

      advertising
      Techkings.org
      has no influence
      on advertisings
      that are displayed by
      Google Adsense


        
       

  3. #2
    j4v3d's Avatar
    Techkings Addict

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Unknown - Top Secret
    Age
    23
    Posts
    3,250
    Rep Power
    174

    Default

    gosh are we safe with any web broswer?

  4. #3
    ferguj1's Avatar
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Great Beyond
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,674
    Rep Power
    282

    Default

    The legit Firefox is fine, and has no association with what is taking place with these e-mails and files. It is basically a spam e-mail which contains a trojan. No software can protect you from everything. A little common sense is the best security asset one can possess.

    "Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight"

    "Only a fool is never afraid, but never let fear make the decisions for you. Do right, and risk the consequences"


    The Rules: Read and Prosper

    Forum Feedback/Suggestions

  5. #4
    dan-ger-ous's Avatar
    Gym Freak

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    C:\windows\dan-ger-ous
    Posts
    5,749
    Rep Power
    347

    Default

    Code:
    .btopenworld.com/firefox.asp
    I dont think that could look any more suspicious..

    A little common sense with a decent AV and legit browser can go a long long way...

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •