do I need more speed????

paulg

Good morning to all

My thought, is as Im not an expert on these things, do I need to upgrade my broadband speed the more pc's i have running in the house.

At the moment we can have up to 4 Pc's and a games console running at once and with xmas around the corner there is going to be 2 more pc's running, so in all 7 items online at once.

Now at the moment we run on 20MB, so will there be a possibility of things slowing down? Will i need to upgrade my current speed to 50MB

Many thanks in advance

Paulg

hmm bit of a situtation your in then arent you. Well i have 2 PC's and 2 laptops connected to the WI-FI and sometimes my iPhone. So its like 5 devices and im not the 20MB connection. Works fine for me, try running it on 7 computers all one at once and surfing if you think its slow then you can upgrade if you wish.

the more you have connected the slower it is. If your on 20 with vm you can upgrade to 30 i think at no extra cost - but you will need the new supahub. if you find that 30 is not fast enough once youhave that hub you can try 50 for a month and see how you go.
I changed from 20 to 30 for xbox live to make it faster. I have 3pcs and other devices often on all at once and dont have much trouble BUt it depends on what your all doing online. I think gaming take up a lot of your speed. What speeds are you getting with the 20 ? try speedtest.net. heres my output with 3 pcs on atm

I suppose it depends what these devices are doing at the time they are all connected together, if all these devices are being used to surf the net then you may just be alright. But if your downloading content or watching videos on each of these PC's at the same time then you will see some drop in performance, an upgrade to 50MB will definitely make a difference.

On the new superhub, I get download speeds equivalent to a 40MB connection on some servers and i'm on the 30MB package