Mag box choices

Smithy882

Hi,
I am looking at purchasing a mag box. I need to have WiFi capability. I am firstly unsure on whether to get the mag254 or the newer 256, (is it worth the extra money)? Secondly I have noticed u can buy a WiFi dongle or buy the box with WiFi built in. I have also seen that both boxes do a w1 and w2 version. I take it the w2 version is a better built in WiFi? So do I buy the box with a separate dongle or built in WiFi, is there no difference in speed etc? Or if I go for built in do I get the w2 version, is this a better WiFi?

Thanks for your time.

First of all I would test the speed of your internet connection.

Wired and WiFi, sometimes there is quite a big drop off.

I always prefer a wired connection so I would tend to look at a pair of homeplugs if you don't
want cables everywhere.

I have no experience of the 254 but the 265 has approx twice the processing speed for about an extra fiver
so I went for that as streaming is constant, unlike c-s which only uses small packets of data.

Got the MAG256 for two of my mates who can't get cable, they are pleased with them.
Easy to use and easy to set up.

As for homeplugs they don't have to be expensive, speed doesn't matter either these days as they are all faster than what your box requires, lots of people use TP link, but I moved to BT homeplugs cause I had a couple of sets which went dodgy after about 3 months.

I am running a cheapo MXQpro (£25) just as a back up to cable, it's android so I put on a MAG emulator so it looks and works the same as a MAG, I can run Kodi, so have Tererrium and Covenant and also have a dodgy Netflix account on it :grin::grin::grin::grin::grin:

To be honest it is fine as a backup but if it was my main box I would probably buy a MAG myself.

Last edited:
Thank u, I have red on here that the mag254 can record but the Mag256 can’t or needs to be changed in some way, is this correct?