1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

N00b Setup Question

Discussion in 'Zgemma-Star H.2S' started by Bully1987, Dec 3, 2016.

  1. Bully1987

    Bully1987 Registered

    11
    0
    1
    Hi all,

    Jumped in and bought a ZGemma H5.2S off the back of a friend raving.

    Done all the config of the Wooshbuild as per video and seems to be fine, 16gb drive in the back formatted etc

    Just feed wise I'm stuck/stupid.

    I'm with Virgin and we have a splitter, one to router, one to Tivo etc, borrowed the Tivos cable hoped for the best with regard to scanning etc. Nothing.
    Also have an aerial wall socket, can this help with simple coaxial cable?

    Have tried to read around the forum before posting this, some suggestion I may have wrong box (need the H2H?) but also suggestion I probably have my cable in the wrong socket

    Any help much appreciated

    N00b
     
  2. dillyp70

    dillyp70 PETER DILWORTH

    0
    6
    20
    {Roofer
    merseyside
    Wrong box mate.
    If using virmin dont get a zgemma.
    Get a twin tunner cable box that way your able to watch one channel and record another.
     
  3. Bully1987

    Bully1987 Registered

    11
    0
    1
    Sigh, so I've burnt 80, I presume my "line" is still fine to use on a different box?
     
  4. dillyp70

    dillyp70 PETER DILWORTH

    0
    6
    20
    {Roofer
    merseyside
    Sky line wont work for vm (usually)
    Sky line about £30 per year
    Vm about £60/80 per year.

    Send the box back mate and get a h2h or a better box for about £20 more than the h2h
     
  5. Bully1987

    Bully1987 Registered

    11
    0
    1
    Thank you for the help, much appreciated.

    What alternative better boxes are available that you'd recommend for my setup? Will the Wooshbuild work with these? Or different build needed

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. dillyp70

    dillyp70 PETER DILWORTH

    0
    6
    20
    {Roofer
    merseyside
    Setup your own box mate
    You learn more if things wrong
    Woosh is just for the zgemma (at the moment)
    So you are using cable and not sat and a budget of how much mate??
     
  7. Bully1987

    Bully1987 Registered

    11
    0
    1
    OK, come in a little blinkered I guess
    I have just been using Firestick for a while but the reliability of builds is poor so was just looking for alternatives.

    I dont have a budget but sub 200 ideally, just would like a box to stick on the end of my Virgin, which I presume I can split again and generally watch everything, not too fussed about recording.

    Not using Sat, never had Sky in, only been here a year and got a Virgin package, BB great but cant afford the stupid Sky Sp and BT prices.

    Guess I have some learning to do about all this!!
     
  8. williamlaw52

    williamlaw52 Registered

    162
    17
    18
    H2h ipab flash does both sat and cable vermin line set up for cable

    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
     
  9. delboy31

    delboy31 Registered

    4
    0
    1
    Will there be a forum category setup for the ZGemma H5.2S? Is this the one to use in the meantime?

    ---------- Post Merged at 05:38 PM ----------

    ..Also, I just ordered the h5.2s from ZGemma, if somebody could DM me where to get a gift/line that would be good
     
  10. Bully1987

    Bully1987 Registered

    11
    0
    1
    Not many fans of Virgin then...

    So a H2H will be suitable should I send back my H2S

    But I'll need a different cccam line by the sounds of it and its going to cost more

    Correct me if I am wrong
     
  11. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    yes an h2s will be do or xtrend or os mini

    and yes youll need a vm line not sat
     
  12. mickzer

    mickzer Registered

    141
    7
    18
    I think you mean a H2H, dsayers2014.
     
  13. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    Yes h2h lol sorry

    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk