1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with Zgemma box for Virgin

Discussion in 'Zgemma Star H.2H' started by Ryder292, Dec 6, 2016.

  1. Ryder292

    Ryder292 Registered

    7
    0
    1
    Hey Guys,

    I needs some expert advise, I have virgin media and looking to by a Zgemma box and would like some help on getting the best box also, what lines would I need for it to record and watch at the same time.

    Any help or advise would be gratefully appreciated

    Thanks

    J
     
  2. Delta

    Delta Registered

    71
    0
    6
    The H.2H is the one you want.

    It has one DVB-C tuner (cable) and one DVB-S (satellite) tuner - so if you want to record one channel and watch another you will need a satellite dish feed too, along with subscription lines from a cable server and a satellite server. The premium satellite channels will not be in HD though.

    There are no Zgemma boxes available that have two DVB-C tuners :( - so you will not be able to watch one cable channel and record another.
     
  3. Psalm23_(UK)

    Psalm23_(UK) Registered

    Would it be possible to wire two seperate dvb-c boxes with one cable (VM) feed in and run 2 boxes off one line, or would you need two lines?
     
  4. Willo3092

    Willo3092 TK Veteran Forum Supporter

    3,764
    1,170
    133
    Male
    East Midlands
    You would be better off getting one of these with 2 cable and 1 sat tuner for £138

    Technomate TM-Nano-SE M2 PLUS Enigma 2 Linux HD PVR TRIPLE TUNER Combo 1x DVB-S/S2 + 2x DVB-C Receiver

    or
    [h=1]Xtrend ET8500 2x DVB-C/T/T2 Linux Enigma 2 Linux HD Digital Receiver PVR Ready[/h]
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  5. dangerous

    dangerous TK Veteran

    3,148
    601
    133
    Male
    {Power Plant Operater
    UK
    I second willo3092 choice as well ;-)
     
  6. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    Has anyone got hold of the zgemma H.52TC twin cable version
     
  7. dangerous

    dangerous TK Veteran

    3,148
    601
    133
    Male
    {Power Plant Operater
    UK
    So that's a twin cable version, I wasn't aware they brought one out,
    Interesting ;-)


    Just copied this from zgemma

    2,000 DMIPS CPU PROCESSOR*​BCM73625 Dual core main chipsetMore than 4.01x linux kernelEnigma2 Linux Operating SystemDVB-S2 + 2*DVB-T2/C Dual Hybrid tuner build-inMicroSD card (TF card) for recording, 8GB, 64GB, 128GB (optional)*HDMI Connection*USB PVR Support of external HDD ( HDD Optional)*1xCardreader (MultiCAS)*2x USB 2.0Ethernet access 10/100 Mbit*256MB NAND Flash / 512MB DDR3*


    So looking at the spec is that not a sat and a twin cable receiver?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  8. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    Yes there selling on a well known Chinese site but no firmware yet and no uk release date.

    Here's the specs from Air Digital

    Code:
    [ Only registered users can see the bbcode. Click Here To Register... ]
    Yes one sat and two cable
     
  9. Ryder292

    Ryder292 Registered

    7
    0
    1
    Hi Willo,

    If I go with one of these boxes would I need to have 3 lines? 2 for cable and one for sat or just the 2 ?

    Thanks

    J
     
  10. Willo3092

    Willo3092 TK Veteran Forum Supporter

    3,764
    1,170
    133
    Male
    East Midlands
    Most lines work for 2 tuners so you'll need one for Sly and one for the 2 Virmin tuners unless you get the Xtrend with just cable tuners, in which case you'll only need a Virmin line.
     
  11. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    Just 2 one for each

    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
     
  12. Delta

    Delta Registered

    71
    0
    6
    I've been in contact with AirDigital in China, and they say it won't be released until next May. I'm hoping to blag an early sample... :)

    ---------- Post Merged at 07:56 PM ----------

    If you're using two tuners, just check that the server owner (who provided your subscription line) is OK with that - some need you to get a multi-room sub (not much extra usually). If you don't they might think you are trying to diddle them by running two boxes off the same subscription line and kick you off the server.
     
  13. dsayers2014

    dsayers2014 VIP Member

    10,067
    1,329
    133
    Male
    Odd there selling on Chinese sites but with minimum bulk orders of ten

    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
     
  14. Delta

    Delta Registered

    71
    0
    6
    Yeah, they are LISTED, but try to actually order some....... Just them trying to drum up some early interest (which has worked!).
     
  15. Ryder292

    Ryder292 Registered

    7
    0
    1
    Hi Guys,

    Thank you all so much I really appropriate all your help, so my next dilemma would be if I went with one of the two boxes recommed by Willo which Firmware would I go for as I dont really know the difference and what is the USB sotrage used for if I have a HDD ?

    Thanks

    Jason
     
  16. Willo3092

    Willo3092 TK Veteran Forum Supporter

    3,764
    1,170
    133
    Male
    East Midlands