Stbemu vs mag box?

scrfta

I've been using stbemu for a few months now and it seems to be the best way for me to get iptv. Whilst I am happy with the setup as it is I just wanted to know from people that have used both, the pros and cons?

Are dedicated boxes faster than stbemu? Are there any other advantages to a dedicated box?

I bought a MAG but didn't like it as much as the firetv stick. My mag kept crashing all the time and always needed to be turned in and off again and again.

I prefer the easier navigation on the mag but that has been fixed in the firetv stick with basic remote

I use both, I have a mag 256 and a quad core android with STb Emu. In my opinion the mag is very slightly quicker at loading up but thats about it. I have found them both very reliable, and as to picture quality might be my eyes, but they seem the same. I have had the mag about 9 months and it has never crashed, the android stb emu has crashed a couple of times but thats probably over a similar time scale so nothing to speak of. The big difference for me is the versatility of the android as I have a cheap netflix (fleabay) account, terrarium and showbox + when using the last two of these I have a vpn. I don't need a vpn with either of my subs but thats at the moment, things may change. Its a lot cheaper and easier to have a vpn on individual devices if and when required than investing in a router fast enough to have a vpn installed as you would need for the mag.
In short given my personal experience I would not buy another mag, I would want something with more versatility as you get with the latest android devices. Its your own preference, if its purely for iptv the mag is fine.

Thanks guys.

If there are no real advantages to a mag box, & it sounds like there are possibly disadvantages to them, then I'll keep to my firestick.