Absolute beginner looking for help with slyk skin and lines

TTmich

Ok here goes.....

I'm a complete newbie, am not that techy and don't understand a lot of the terminology but have read some threads on here and you guys seem very friendly and helpful so hoping you can help me out.....

I bought a Zgemma star 2s which came pre-installed with all channels and the wonderful Slyk skin. However....... I accidentally clicked on software upgrade and it made my box stick on boot and no matter how many times I turned it off and on, boot stayed on my box.

I googled how to resolve this and found out I needed to flash my box, I read how to do that and had a go.......I didn't read the thread though that said I needed to back up my lines beforehand and yep.....I think I've lost them.

I say I think I've lost them as I'm currently reading my sticky thread bible on here day and night from Kiddac which is brilliant but I've got to the bits where it talks about backing up (which I didn't do) and it says which folders the lines should be in. I've looked in them and the keys folder says it's empty, it's even empty in the etc file. I've looked in all the other files (which all look gobbledegook to me) and I don't see anything I don't think they're in there either.

....my question and help is - How do I get new lines and how do I know which line I'll need? I keep reading about nlines and clines and mgm..something or other but don't know which one I'll need or how to get it. After I've got the lines, what do I do?

Also, following the advice on downloading the slyk skin again and softcams ipk, I've followed the instructions, went into memory/tmp file, the slyk skin was there, pressed green to install and it quickly said "done, downloaded with no files and no errors, when I rebooted, couldn't find the skin anywhere, went back into memory/tmp file to see if it was still there so I could try again and it had gone?