changing over to a shield pro from a mag 256

Timothy

Hi folks

I have just received a shield pro and I bought a 1 year IPTV sub a few weeks ago and that is on my mag box, I emailed my provider asking for help to switch my sub over from my mag box onto my shield. His reply was " You can't transfer mag connection to another device... As its locked to the mac address. "

Do I have to fork out for another years sub just because I bought a new device?

Firstly a sub can be transferred, either your provider does not know how to do it on the panel he/she is using or whoever they buy from doesn't do it because they simply can't be arsed.

Whilst in my opinion it's not the greatest app you can download STB Emulator and edit the MAC to match that of your original MAG, enter the portal URL and use that. Not the ideal option given that there are much better apps out there. You could also try a MAC to M3U converter but I have no experience of this I'm afraid.

I personally don't believe you should have to but you could try offering an admin fee of £5 or something for the hassle.

You can try and get the login details yourself using mag to m3u. Which will give you a username and password.

Firstly a sub can be transferred, either your provider does not know how to do it on the panel he/she is using or whoever they buy from doesn't do it because they simply can't be arsed.

Whilst in my opinion it's not the greatest app you can download STB Emulator and edit the MAC to match that of your original MAG, enter the portal URL and use that. Not the ideal option given that there are much better apps out there. You could also try a MAC to M3U converter but I have no experience of this I'm afraid.

I personally don't believe you should have to but you could try offering an admin fee of £5 or something for the hassle.
Thanks you for your reply

I would guess it's the "I cant be arsed" and I want you to buy another years sub from me approach to this.