First Cable Tuner

ruud82

I'm looking for some ideas on the best cable boxes to look at. I've tried the search function but don't seem to be able to hit up any results.

Some features that would influence my purchase:

- Ease of setup/use/maintenance
- HD
- Ability to record (preferably on a different channel, but only if it's easy to setup).

Money isn't a massive issue, however, I wouldn't want to spend too much as it will be my first cable box. I would like something high enough spec'd but also good bang for my buck. I see Z-Gemma mentioned a lot.

I'm not sure if it makes too much of a difference but I don't currently have a Virgin TV service. I only have the Virgin Broadband Service, so line from the wall goes into a hub which gives me wi-fi. I'll need to have a good look into which parts/connections I need to buy but would appreciate some input on the box for now.

I have some experience with setting up Satellite Box years ago so I'm not completely technically inept lol. I can follow instructions pretty well :grin:

I use the zGemma H7c which works perfectly for mine and my family's needs. You can put a 2.5" HD in it for recording and timeshift, up to 4k (however useful that is to you) and performance of the hardware is excellent - nice and quick for booting and general use. Grogbuild is a good image for it which is well supported in these forums and you also have access to the 3rd party content through the IPTV player plug-in.

I set one up with cable, freesat and IPTV last night in about half an hour. And most of that was waiting for the cable tuners to do their scans. They pretty much maintain themselves, but always ensure you keep up to date with your image provider for new versions etc. and do a software update now and then. Very easy to use as it is just a STB, you use it like you would any tv box.

They've also just reduced the price on the UK zGemma site to £126 I think which is a pretty good price IMHO for a really good box!