Garden Decking advice needed

jodav

VIP Member
Hi All :)

Thinking of putting some decking down some time in the future in an area in my garden behind the garage in my recently acquired home (previous owners had a kids trampoline there so it sort of bare with some weeds and a bit of grass popping through hardened soil.

Its around a 6 ft by 10 ft area or so and I am thinking of decking to put maybe a table and chairs there as it is a bit of a hot spot on an afternoon\evening.

My question is as I have no experience but would enjoy giving it a go, for my preparation; Would it be OK to maybe weed it, turn it over with spade, and simply put weed protector sheet down and then erect my slightly raised decking. Or should I put some gravel on top of weed protector sheet (or sand), or should I put a mixture of sand and concrete down on top of the sheet, or something else?

Not only am I looking for a cheapish option (but not at expense of a rubbish job), but an option in time to easily remove should I ever wish to re grass or put some plants there.

Thanks for any advice,

jodav :)

HTML:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hpZaaqOGww
plenty of u tube videos there,make sure your weed membrane is of good quality and not a j cloth material and double it up and would need to be air and water passable [ lets water in ] good quality screws screws used so its easier to screw.
i hear wickes make a wax covered screw for easier driving.

turning over your soil will leave you with an unstable base,not what you want,spray it with a weed preventer a few weeks earlier to get it ready,some say dead in 24 hrs lol

Last edited:
I will pull weeds out, get some spray, and get some good quality weed covering. at least i can get prep work done whilst I price my decking, joists etc for when i have some funds to purchase them. i wont bother with gravel or pebbles over the cover then unless i can get hold of some cheap by word of mouth to people i know.

cheers Cacti,