Is the VU Uno 4K any good?

satman007

There don't seem to be many threads here about them. Is this because the box is relatively new?

It's a VU+, they have good rep, they look good - this box is 4K and really cheap for a 4K VU box. I would have throught more people would be raving about them?
They only run oscam due to the chipset is a that an issue?
I see they are not supported yet by whoosh builds, is that the issue?
Would love to see some 4K channels!

These are worrying times to be thinking about investing in any box going forward..> Can anyone advise?

I have a VU+ Uno 4K box and as I'm new to linux have found it all very difficult. Main reason I got the box was to view 4K programmes in true 4K. as I have a 4K television. Well most all 4K programmes I can find on Hotbird 13, Astra 19.2 and Astra 28.2 are FTA Demo channels, doesn't seem to be anything else. And setting up the OScam in linux has proved to be a nightmare. A lot of hard work for very little in return, especially when you consider there's only 6 to 7 4K channels to view and they're all FTA anyway. So yes purchase the box if, unlike me, you are pretty good at linux, but if you just want 4K stuff to watch, any 4K box should do, as it's only 4K FTA Demo channels you will find.

Uno 4k setting up should be similar to setting up other boxes from scratch just no backup for it (unless someone buys me one :() Oscam is harder to setup but we have a few threads covering this you haven't said for sat or cable but if for cable then the fbc cable tuner has a great advantage record upto 7 channels, im not sure how fbc works on multi sats though.

Wooshbuild might be good but @wooshman cant buy every box lol so I would say get it if its for cable others will tell you about how fbc works on sat