Just received my new Zgemma Star 2S in post. Can I ask a few question please? Thanks

ringo46

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and new to the whole Zgemma Star 2S scene. I've just received my box through the post and I'm going to set up later on. I've had a good read through the forums for guides etc and have spent a lot of time researching.
I think I know what to do but can I please ask you more experienced users a few questions please?
Firstly I have idiots guide to installing sucmnsee's image but I noticed there is 2 downloadable files mtvpockets OpenATV4.2 and Vix Apollo 165 Sucmnsee's backup. Are these basically 2 different versions OpenATV and OpenVix? What's difference better them?
I have my new box so do I just place Vix Apollo 165 Sucmnsee's backup onto a USB and flash my box with it 1st of all before I do anything else?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm finding it hard to find the information I want, sorry to sound like an idiot but I'm new to all this.

Thanks a lot - Ringo

Hi, it just depends mate there not too much between them. I have sucmnsee's vix 3.2.0 image flashed on my zgemma but some folk like atv because it's supported by the manufacturer. It's entirely up to yourself, if u know how to flash a box then try them all, remember to save your line details if u have one. Some guys think certain images work smoother than others and crash less, ie, no box rebooting.

Hey, welcome to the forum!

The 2 images you mention above, although they will work fine are a little dated now, OpenATV 5.1 is the latest release and Vix has newer builds out there too, the difference between both is minimal really, I've always preferred Vix to OpenATV but am currently using OpenATV no problem and once skinned they look and feel very much the same, OpenATV has the benefit of being able to update OTA where's this isn't possible on Vix, which may be slightly faster if anything.