Windows 7 Linux Dorks

Stoke

Anyone on this forum a dedicated Linux dork like me?

I'm currently using Linux Mint at home (only because I fancied a change) and Ubuntu at work, although I have GNOME classic installed. Not remotely keen on Unity.....

Windows users still don't know what they're missing out on :grin:

I know linux is well good I'm rocking mint on my pc, xubuntu on my laptops Ubuntu mate on my daughters pcs, debian base is on my server, libreelec on my pi's and of course my zgemma sat box runs Linux too

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

I know linux is well good I'm rocking mint on my pc, xubuntu on my laptops Ubuntu mate on my daughters pcs, debian base is on my server, libreelec on my pi's and of course my zgemma sat box runs Linux too

Glad to know someone else is into the world of Term, Gnome, Deb's and all the rest of it :grin:

I'm a software engineer by day, so naturally Linux is kind of in my blood, but what amazes me, is how painful it is to go back to Windows nowadays. For a long time, I had a Windows machine and Linux machine at work, but then when I went on a dedicated Linux project I got rid of the Windows machine. Everything I can do on Windows, I can do 10x quicker on Linux and it gets well on my nerves when I have to deal with it. yuk :grin:

I agree, Linux does get in your way, and security it a must too

Having not used Windows for a long time, I forget if it's secure or not nowadays. I know Microsoft spent a long time getting it to the level where it was even competing with Mac and Linux for security.

That said, Linux is only as secure as the person who for example, writes the fstab to the distro you're using. I've just been working on fixing a failed project at work where the entire root directory is remounted r/w for all users to access and modify.

Naughty.

I'm finding that more and more if you build it yourself you learn how to fix and you know if your secure