Mag 256 HD very skippy/jumpy

Hi all.

I’ve been using a mag 256 for 8/9 months and it’s been fine, needs the occasional reboot but I can handle that.

Recently (last couple of weeks) all HD Channels have been unwatchable. Within 10 mins of watching it goes very jumpy and skippy and even if I leave for 10 mins never sorts itself out.

The SD version of whatever channel I’m watching works well (although pic quality is dire)

It seems like the box can’t stream the HD content but in the past it has worked fine.

As I don’t fully understand this whole set up I’ll tell you how it’s set up.

1. Running through a Spider VPN.
2. Speed test showing 300kbps.
3. I did change the buffer time to 2 seconds (from 0) to see if this would help but didn’t make any difference so put it back to 0.
4. No other settings changes made from out of the box (I’m 99% sure).
5. I know others who use the same service and they have reported no problems which is why I think it’s an issue at my end.
6. Problem happens on all types of channels (terrestrial, sports, USA sports)

The only thing I can think to do is do a full reset of the box and re set up my portal - is this likely to fix issue?

Any advice is appreciated.

Cheets

Mike

Hi MIke.. If i´m thinking correctly 300kbps is about 2,4 Mbps.. hat seems ok for SD but not for HD.. i recommend to my clients to have at least 12/15 Mbps for HD..

Did your provider change anything? i´d ask my provider/reseller if anything changed.

Have you tried without a VPN .. usually you´ll lose some speed by using the vpn connection.. a short trial without to see what happens?

Other things to try would be increasing the buffer above the 2 seconds that you´ve tried.. 6 10 ?

If nothing works you could do a factory reset and install the system again.. if it doesn´t change anything then the problem has to be somewhere else.. then i´d start looking at my vpn connection / router etc..

Sorry can´t think of anything else.