Motherboard help please - should I return MSI MB?

Session9

VIP Member
Hey hey all,
I posted a little while ago about my brother buying a computer off eBay, and asked for advice on behalf of him.

He bought this one off eBay:

AMD Athlon II X2 240 2.8GHz Dual-Core
Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P M/board
4Gb DDR2 PC-6400 240-pin 800MHz
Nvidia 9500GT 1G Video Card
320GB SATA2 Hard Drive
22x Dual Layer DVD Super All Write Drive
Windows 7 Home 64 bit

Now...the one they sent him has a different motherboard in it.
It's an MSI K9N6PGM2-V.
The company sent us an email back and told us that the two board were basically identical.

Could somebody please tell me what differences there are in the two, and if I should be sending this MSI one back for my bro?

I've had a look on Newegg and there are slight differences, but I'm not sure which board is better, I'm good, but I'm not that good at tech stuff. The one thing I did notice was the Gigabyte board could handle up to 8GB RAM, the MSI only 4GB.

Here's a few links for you:

Gigabyte board:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-M61PME-S2P AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-M61PME-S2P (rev. 1.0)

MSI board:
Newegg.com - MSI K9N6PGM2-V AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
MSI Global ? Computer, Laptop, Notebook, Desktop, Mainboard, Graphics and more

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited:
The price after a quick look round seems similar although personally if it was me I would send it back and demand the one actually paid for especially when the Gigabyte board could handle up to 8GB RAM and the MSI only 4GB, not only that, when you buy something you would expect them to send exactly what you paid for.

Has he left feedback yet?

He got it on my account, so nah I haven't left feedback yet.

I saw that too, the Gigabyte board is a few dollars dearer pretty much.