N00B Question - Is internet Required?

biggzi

Hi All.

Im pretty tech savy as I work in IT but satellite boxes are new to me.

I've just moved into my own place, I love TV but refuse to pay the prices of sky and virgin. I always had tivo at the parents, which was great but as said I'm not paying that price!

I've been doing some research and planning to go for an entry level box something like a V8S or a Zgemma just to get me used to the basics. Might go for something a bit better if I can find a good deal.

Anyway down to business and my actual question.... really sorry if this has been asked before but I can't find a definitive answer.

Do I need an internet connection for these boxes to function? We will have internet eventually but don't have it installed yet. Am I able to load the channel list via USB? Or even take the box to my parents to setup and then bring it back to mine? Once configured I'm assuming I will be able to receive FTA channels with no internet connection?

Thanks.

it will work without internet, BUT you will only get FTA channels, it needs a permanent internet connection for the magic to work

Great. That's what I was hoping for TBH.

What about channel lists? Can this be updated via USB? Or is that dependent on the box?

Great. That's what I was hoping for TBH.

What about channel lists? Can this be updated via USB? Or is that dependent on the box?

Hello mate, I was in the same boat as you about a month ago.

I took a bit of a risk and opted for a higher end box (Linux enigma 2 that you can run a VIX image on, also something you can install a HD in) and I wasn't disappointed, I can record just like a sky box and even apply skins so it looks like one too.

The way I understand it is that the cheaper types of boxes in some cases will require you to updae channel lists via USB but the higher end ones can be set to update automatically along with electronic program guides, bouquets etc.