Openvpn slowing me right down

willwin01

Hi guys,

Quite the novice here but looking for help with this issue.

So I suppose the best thing to do is explain where I'm at.

So I bought a new router from eBay, a plusnet one with openwrt flashed to it. Set it up all fine, openvpn software also installed on there.

Bought a subscription for nordvpn and used the router manager tool to configure nord vpn with my router and the openvpn installed on it.

From within the router manager tool I can connect to various different servers around the world and UK without a problem, all seems great.

Until I check the speeds with a speed test.
I'm on fibre and without the vpn stuff running I get around 50mb

With the vpn running I'm lucky if I get more than 7mb.

I understand that it's not unusual to lose some speeds due to using nordvpn and openvpn which form all accounts should amount to a lose of maybe 35 percent. But with that in mind I would be ok with that. However, only getting 7mb...what's going on here?

I have tried to research this on the tinternet and all fingers seem to point to openvpn killing the speeds up to 30 percent, and giving ideas of how you can speed things up like choosing servers closest to you that have a light load blah blah all the standard stuff which is obvious, however that doesn't improve the situation.

I did stumble across something that said something like because openvpn is heavily used on the port number it's monitored and throttled from my ISP (This is possible I suppose) but how do you change this?

But more interesting to me is I read that there is an alternative to openvpn called Wiregaurd.
Apparently this is lighter in software bumf and not monitored as much and well...Better.
The problem I have is I don't know how to install it and configure it on my router? I've seen guides on the net but it might as well be written in and alien language. Can anyone walk my through it like a baby? Lol.

Thanks in advance