the best box to get???

hi, im new to this and was wandering which is the best box to get? ive currently got sky, tv, broadband and phone. my father in law has got a starview box, gets all the channels and pays less for 6 months viewing than i do for 1 month :( so i bought a starview box for a couple of quid off someone by me, but i think its too old. any help would be most appriciated. thanks, jason

I dont know if you`ve rigged it up to the TV yet. If you have press menu > system info and let us know what it says.

Have you not asked the Father In law about which box he bought?

not rigged it up yet, will do that in the morn and see what it says

---------- Post added at 01:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:15 AM ----------

just connected it, it says:
star view
api ver : 4.ooe_E
boot ver : 7.0
7.jun.2007

That box is long finished. Its a starview 1.

Have a look at the links below , take your time and have a good read before deciding which box you want. You will have to pay a sub for the starview.

Starview

KryptView

For Satellite ,

Satellite

The Blade Media seems to be one of the most popular sat boxes atm.

i have a starview and i wouldnt recoment them at all channels missing the servers are rubbish and now they want you to pay for it

I'm also wondering which box is the best to get, I'm hoping for some help from the most experienced guys who have been around here on the forum.

From what I have currently seen. The two biggest boxes on the market are:

Cryptview and Starview, the major difference being that the Starview would require a subscription service.

Are there any other boxes out on the market which do not require a subscription, but also have a HDMI connection and possibly the ability to install a hard drive.