USB Recommendations?

PMD

OK Newbie here, first post. . . . so hope this is in the right place and please be gentle lol.

My Zgemma H2S is currently on order and I'm well looking forward to getting my hands on it.
I have been looking at the stuff for loading images etc, and some recommend having two USB,s one for images and backups and one for recorded/timeshift stuff

USB ideas please. . .
USB2 or USB3?
USB stick or USB SD Drive?
Minimum Write speed?
How much would say six hours or recording take up. (Trying to work out whether a high speed low GB would be better or a Lower speed High GB)

I'm pretty sure this must have been covered already so I'm off to browse the forum.

Cheers in advance for any response.
PMD

Well I used a 8gb sandisk cruiser for the first time I flashed my box. I now use that stick for doing full backups of the box before I start to do any big messing of settings in case I mess it up completely so I can restore it quickly (never had to use the backup yet though). I did have a 32gb sandisk glide when I first got my box for recordings / EPG / time shift etc but wanted more space so got a Toshiba canvio 1tb USB powered hard drive

For flashing I have used three different brands , all USB 2 and that's a kingston data traveller 16gb, an integral 32gb and a lexar 64gb ,
For larger storage for recordings I always use USB 3, I have used the toshiba canvio too but the 500gb powered from the USB, not failed yet

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm running a 2TB wd portable ultra (USB3 & usb powered), runs very well

sent from the past using my Zx Spectrum

Yes it's been mentioned a few times.....
Don't buy ANY usb stuff off eBay for starters.
I'd buy usb3 simply to guarantee a decent read / write speed.
SD will use up approx a gig an hour, and HD will use approx 4 gig an hour.

Doubt their is a limit. I know at least one person on here said they use a 4tb drive fine (no idea why they require that amount of space though)