Wii connection to my wireless router. Problems!!!

adammcd02

Hi guys,

I am having real problems connecting my Wii to my wireless router. Can anyone talk me through how to do this. I have followed the instructions booklet and also the Nintendo online instructions but to no avail. When i'm searching for a connection with my Wii my router is never showing up on screen. I know it will probably be something basic, but i'm not the best at these things, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

well im no expert but, i do know that with the wii you have to be on certain channels on your router to pick it up - im sure the lads will corect me but i think channels 6 and 11 are two of them. try changing your router to that to see if it picks up -or you can add your ssid manually and then pick it up if it wont do it automatically also is your connection hidden - if so you wont find it

Hi adammcd02
Im only in for a minute
Whats your firmware on your wii
Are parental controls on or off
Press the wii symbol in the corner and go to settings
goto internet and run a connection test to see if you can find a wireless access point
You may have to also on your pc network allow access for the wii to the router

Yeah, i've tried the connection test a few times and it never finds my router. How would i go about allowing access for my wii on the router? Sorry, i have no idea what firmware i have on the wii.

Is it softmodded and if you click on the wii symbol on your main screen it will tell you in the top right corner what it is it will be a number like 3.2 or 4.1 etc

It's a version 4.2E. It is brand new out the box so has had no modifications done to it. My wireless router is a Netgear WGR614.

Its your router then,you will need to allow it to allow a connection,i am not familiar with that router but this might help,its a article from another source

Error Code: 51330

This error code usually indicates a problem relating to wireless security. Please try the following troubleshooting: