1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Random pay channels not working -

Discussion in 'General Satellite Discussion' started by strike101, Dec 14, 2016.

  1. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    Hi

    Have an annoying problem. I'm sure you guys will be able to help :).

    So i have an openbox v5s and a zgemma h2s in the house.
    On the zgemma every single channel works.

    On the openbox the sky movies are not working. I am using the latest channel list. Other channels such as sky sports work. But on movies i get no signal. The tp is 11934, 27500.
    Also having this issue with bt sport. Bt sport 1 and 2 are on the same tp (11344, 27500ks). However bt sport 2 works and bt sport 1 does not!

    Since other channels work is it safe to rule out the dish or lnb being the issue?
    Since other pay channels work does that rule out the internet being an issue?

    It looks like its the box. I've done a blind scan and reset to factory settings and still nothing.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Edit:: i have plugged in the zgemma in place of the openbox and everything works fine. In fact I even plugged in the openbox where the zgemma was and it's working fine. truly baffled now
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  2. garyth

    garyth TK Veteran

    3,098
    181
    Just a quickie, are you using the correct power supply chord with the box? This can happens sometimes when plugs are swapped over
     
  3. No1gooner

    No1gooner TK Veteran

    653
    32
    Maybe the ports on the lnb that are connected to the openbox have failed or the cable is damaged to rule it out hook the zgemma up to the cables used by the openbox or visa versa and see if the channels clear if they don't it would indicate a problem with the lnb or cabling.
     
  4. bees

    bees VIP Member

    6,033
    485
    It will most likely be your channel list.

    Check by going to a channel that's not working on the V5s and compare
    the frequency with the working channel on the Zgemma.

    Movies and BT channels got moved around a few months back but you wouldn't notice
    with using ABM on the Zgemma
     
  5. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    I am actually using a different power cord....but why would that result in some channels working and others not?

    ---------- Post Merged at 03:10 PM ----------

    Frequencies are correct. Used a new channel list and checked all frequencies.

    ---------- Post Merged at 03:28 PM ----------

    Unfortunately that's not an option.
    Surely if some of the channels work then the lnb and dish are working fine?
     
  6. nickyd186

    nickyd186 TK Veteran

    922
    119
    try taking the lnb cable out of the zgemma box and see if the openbox works on those channels, my parents had the problem no so long ago and this fixed it with a sky hd box and a openbox. Bit of a pain in the arse I know. they ended up upgrading the openbox to a zgemma and haven't had issues with the two wires going into the zgemma, so we put it down to the openbox being old and on its way out
     
  7. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    I plugged in the openbox where zgemma was. Works fine
    Zgemma where openbox was. Works fine
    Openbox back to where openbox was. Doesnt work.

    What the heck is going on?
     
  8. nickyd186

    nickyd186 TK Veteran

    922
    119
    madness is it! Same problem but with a openbox and sky hd. we put down to the openbox box being 4 years old and on its last legs
     
  9. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    It really is! If the box was broken surely it shouldn't work at all anywhere! Yet when plugged into where the zgemma is, its fully operational!

    I am a software consultant and this is utterly baffling me
     
  10. the reaper

    the reaper VIP Member Forum Supporter

    4,552
    725
    Question--what type of lnb
    Question--how are boxes connected to lnb
    Try switching off Zbox and then check openbox
    Reaper.
     
  11. snakefeet

    snakefeet Registered

    107
    8
    Looks interesting this thread i currently have no BBC2 HD or channel 5 HD on a h2h cable i suspect the cabel is faulty possibly the port on h2h anyway so ling as its not a sports channel im happy.

    The SD versions work but then they would anyway.
    look forward to watching this thread.
     
  12. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    Excuse my ignorance but what do you mean by what type of lnb?

    One lnb is going into the zgemma. One into the openbox. Zbox was completely disconnected and openbox still didn't work.

    Remember, half the paid channels work, the other half don't.
     
  13. snakefeet

    snakefeet Registered

    107
    8
    I think he means what type as in
    RG6 coax cable
    RG59
    WF65
    WF100

    I use RG6
     
  14. the reaper

    the reaper VIP Member Forum Supporter

    4,552
    725
    Have you got 2 lnb's then?
    The question was what type of lnb--a single with a splitter, a dual with 2 port outlets or perhaps a quad or what?
    You have said--Quote-Yet when plugged into where the zgemma is, its fully operational!- so it works with one box off but doesn't work with both connected therefore the major suspect is your Lnb and/or cable connections thus eliminating a dish fault.
    Both boxes are working on their own but not together brings you back to lnb/cable or connection.
    We are here to help you m8, not hinder.
    I fix and play with these boxes every day and it always comes down to the simple process of elimination.
    Reaper.
     
  15. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    Yep i know you're trying to help. I meant no disrespect? Was an honest question.

    It does not work with one box off. It works if connected to where the zgemma is. However not in the other location.

    Its a single cable. I have two of these with f connectors on the ends. I have two lnbs on my dish. One is going to the zgemma box. One is going to the openbox.

    Here is the cable

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B0...36_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=satellite+cable

    my process of elimination has been;

    Openbox works fully at location a
    Zgemma works fully at location a
    Openbox doesn't work at location b
    Zgemma works fully at location b

    This is all tested with both boxes connected at once and only one connected at a time.

    Any advice would be appreciated

    ---------- Post Merged at 10:17 PM ----------

    I think its rg6
     
  16. Jagsy

    Jagsy TK Veteran Forum Supporter

    581
    20
    maybe the signal isn't as good on connection b as it is on connection a ... but the zgemma tuner can still work ok with the slight signal loss on connection b but the openbox tuner cant handle it
    look at your f connector on the cable ends on connection b again
     
  17. gilvey

    gilvey Registered

    335
    91
    Why don't you just swap the cables over on the lnb if it works off the other cable?
     
  18. nickyd186

    nickyd186 TK Veteran

    922
    119
    I think both cables are working but the openbox won't work on certain channels when both boxes are connected it doesn't seem to matter which way he has his cables but the problem is the same.
     
  19. jimzgemma

    jimzgemma Registered

    242
    19
    Strike101 - I FEEL YOUR PAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Got the same problem and same boxes. Lost nick jr and disney jr channels,

    HELP!!! swap boxes over and they work fine.??
     
  20. strike101

    strike101 Registered

    15
    0
    In the end i gave up and ordered me a zgemma box to replace openbox.

    After days of trying and reading all the replies my conclusion is that the signal in location b is slightly weaker than in a. Since the openbox is a weaker receiver it cant decode certain channels. Location b is also further away from the dish so there may be some signal loss by the time it gets to the box?

    I recommend we keep this thread open though as it seems to be a semi common problem!

    Thanks for all your help guys