Zgemma star s, no initialization choice in settings

shez

My box is running openvix when i put a usb stick in the back of the box when i go into settings there is no choice for picking initialization the option is simply not there. The box boots up saying it is a star s2 but i am sure it is just the star s. I can only screw one part of the cable line into the back of the box leaving one part of the cable loose, so i am sure it means i have the star s and not the s2 as it says during boot up.
Is there another way i have to use to initialize the thumb drive i have.
I want to be able to pause rewind using the thumb drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated. i am a total newbie so lots to learn. i have done lots of searching and googled to death and cannot find an answer.
all i ever see when searching for answer is click on initialization, getting me down a bit. i wish i had of bought the Zgemma Star H.2S it seems a great box and i like the idea of it taking a 128gb sd card with no messing about.
Is it worth upgrading my box?
Still need answer on problem though please. Thank you...

Thanx for the replys. It is a Sony 8gb. I have formatted it using windows to fat 32, also done a ntfs ands also done an ext 3. The one thing i can say is if i put the usb in the back of the box it has been recognized and given me the correct size without doing anything more than plugging it in.
It tells me it needs to be formatted to ext 3 or 4 even though it has been done as such by third party software. Then i was not able to find and iinitialization choice in any settings what so ever.
when i go into menu then setup then system once in system this is my choices in order
a/v settings
Auto language selection
customise
channel selection settings
EPG
Front display panel
HDMI CEC
Input devices (for remote controls only)