Difficulty getting off the starting line

Billy-Boy

TK Supporter
Hey guys, not that I need to tell you but newbie here :)

Trying to convince the misses to switch to IPTV for the couple things she watches so we can finally ditch cable. So I dug out one of our old fire sticks, threw stb on it and got it going with a free trial, that came from a seemingly long timer here.

The problem is, we turned it on tonight to watch I'm a celeb live, over 20 minutes it froze twice, voices got out of sync for a while and right at the end the quality dipped to potato levels.

I threw on a random sports channel for about 10 minutes, it froze once.

Now obviously I can and will email my supplier to see whats up, but because i've essentially got such a small window of opportunity to test and troubleshoot I don't know how to go about it. If I can get everything working "ok" on the stick I will ultimately replace it with a proper hardwired box but for now, I have no idea if its me, my equipment or the supplier I'm trying. I don't want to miss out on what could be a long relationship with someone if I'm playing with half a deck here, but I can't just keep asking for more and more trials while I troubleshoot either.

Hope that makes sense and someone can give me some tips please?

Turn off shields/nanny settings on your router
Use ethernet, no matter how good your WiFi is ethernet will always be better
24hrs isn't long enough for a trial of a service. Use the 24hrs to see if you like the layout and has most of your needs and is fine for the most part then take out q one month sub. If its poor find another
Try to build a good reputation and help others out.
Contribute to the forum and generally be nice and "better wuality" sellers may reach out when requesting in the thread
We have all started off as newbies at one point, just keep reading as much info as possible and try to learn as much as you can, there is lots of threads on here to broaden your knowledge.