Who to trust - "line-wise"?

Dead_dog

Hi all

First off, this is NOT a post asking for a line, I know they go in the request thread!!

I purchased a used V8S off a well known auction site that came complete with the remainder of the seller's line subscription and, so far, I have been happy with the line - occasionally glitches but no more than 3 or 4 times a day and cures afterthe usual 8 seconds. Whilst I have a few months of subscription left I thought it might not be a bad idea to look into who I should get my replacement line from when the time comes and so I asked the box seller who he got the current line from. He gave me an email address that now appears to not work so I am left with the problem of finding a supplier of lines.

I have read many threads on here about the same thing and the advice seems to be "Don't buy off auction sites, use the thread here to ask one". The problem with that advice is that if I post a request on this forum and my inbox fills with offers I still don't know any of these guys from Adam and I could still end up purchasing a line from someone that disappears after 6 weeks (or even sooner!). Why is buying off of this forum more relaible than buying from anywhere else on the web? How do you determine which of the numerous offers filling your inbox is from a genuine supplier and which are from shysters trying it on?

I hope someone can enlighten me on this point.

Cheers

DD

HI,

There are no guarentee's sorry, what you are doing is basically illegal and so the lines could disapear at anytime, we all take the risk BUT that said some of us have been doing this for many moons and have suppliers who we have been with for sometime. Requesting on Techkings I feel is safer than eBay, I've never seen anyone have a happy purchase from eBay sellers, 24 months for £15 is a joke, I've never seen anyone selling 2 years for that cheap.