Suitable for Hotbird/nc+?

Hi everyone,

I've been playing around with my home satellite set-up for a few months now - changed the dish alignment and size in the hope of picking up Polish TV (nc+ etc) from Hotbird. In the most part it's worked well, but the nc+ box that I bought with the card has been very picky about signal quality, with lots of glitches on a few channels.

In desperation, I picked up a cheap OpenBox V8S a few weeks ago, just to see if it would make a difference, and it showed a big improvement on picture quality and stability with the same input. Unfortunately, the box itself is pretty odd to use, with some very strange things happening with the EPG and Timer Recordings (the current firmware shuts down after every recording, for starters...).

I've been looking at Zgemma H2S as a possible upgrade, therefore - but while I see lots of tutorials about how to set it up for Sky and Astra 28.2, I haven't seen much on whether there are channel lists etc for the Hotbird satellite. Can anyone clarify if this is the case? It looks a good box - a better box than the OpenBox, for sure - but that obviously only applies if I can get it to access the Hotbird channels...

Thanks in advance for any advice, and regards to all,

Discy

The H2.S is much more customizable as it's an enigma 2 receiver and you can program the channel lists for 13e and others satellites. I use a motorised dish myself to be able to use all satellites within range but there's guys on here who use multi lnb setup who may know a bit more on this particular issue like @steptoe :)

Hi, I can get nc+ on Hotbird 13e on a multi LNB set up on a 65cm dish in NW England,
I have an edision box which is very similar to the H2s for setting up,
Very good channel list available.

Thanks @steptoe - is it also relatively straightforward to set up the EPG for the Hotbird channels?

Kind regards,

Discy

really easy,